Economic Development Committee

The Chair of the Committee is Councillor Lisa Hern and the Committee Members include Mayor Andy Lennox, Councillors Sherry Burke and Steve McCabe, as well as Dale Small, Economic Development Officer and April Marshall, Tourism, Marketing and Promotion Manager. 

Public Members are:

Stephen Dineen

Stephen Dineen is a lifelong resident of the area and has spent the past 30 years farming the Dineen Family Farm near Kenilworth. Twenty five plus years in the dairy business and three plus years in chickens have kept Stephen very in touch with the challenges and priorities of rural Ontario and Wellington North.  He has spent many years as a Director of the Wellington Federation of Agriculture, and was appointed to the Economic Development Committee in October 2009.

Alan Rawlins

Alan Rawlins is a long time resident of the area and currently lives in Arthur.  He had a successful carreer in the manufacturing, engineering and design sector with experience as a sales representative and manager of bulk handling equipment for more than 40 types of industries.  Al joined the Committee in June 2007 and also sits on the Board of Wellington North Power.

Jim Taylor

Jim Taylor lives near Kenilworth and is a Professor Emeritus from the School of Environmental Design and Rural Development at the University of Guelph.  He joined the Committee in June 2007, and as a consultant works on many  tourism, downtown revitalization and wind energy projects. Jim played a lead role in establishing the Municipal Wind Energy Guidelines for the Township of Wellington North.

Tim Boggs

Tim Boggs is a Financial Representative with Boggs Financial and is a life long resident of Arthur.  He is active with the Arthur Optimist Club, a volunteer for the Friends for Life Concert; fundraiser for the Childhood Cancer Foundation and is currently Treasurer/Secretary of the Sunday morning Legion Curling.   Tim's active Community involvement make him a welcome addition to the Economic Development Committee and he was appointed to the Committee in April 2011.

Shawn Mcleod

Shawn Mcleod was raised in Guelph and has lived and raised a family in Mount Forest for 23 years.  As the owner/operator of McLeod's Painting and Decorating for the past 15 years, he has developed a keen interest in the opportunities and challenges faced by businesses in Wellington North.  Shawn's involvement in the Mount Forest Lions Club, United Church Council and the Chamber of Commerce has enabled him to demonstrate his leadership skills and has furthered his network within the community.  Shawn was appointed to the Economic Development Committee in April 2011.  His background in sales and customer service as well as his strong committment to the Community make him a positive addition.

Shep Shepetunko

Shep (Gerald) Shepetunko has been a resident of the Arthur area for the past 10 years after a successful career in the Aerospace Industry where he was involved in Specialty Product Procurement and Program Management.  He is currently active in Cash Cropping and new Crops Development and has been a Board Member with a number of Trade Associations over the past years.  Shep is also involved in the Hospitality and Tourism Industries and was appointed to the Economic Development Committee in April 2011.

The Committee meets once a month in the Kenilworth Council Chambers on the third Wednesday at 4:30 p.m.  For information, call the Township of Wellington North Municipal Office at (519) 848-3620 or toll free at 1-866-848-3620.  

Economic Development Committee Mandate