MOUNT FOREST FIRE BRIGADE CONSTITUTION

Although the year is not identified, this constitution of the Mount Forest Fire Brigade reflects a time around a century ago. It is interesting to reflect on the current status, by-laws, rules and orders of that time to see the differences between life then and life today.

The Mount Forest Fire Brigade was started in 1879. In 1923 Mr. Andrew O'Brecht became the chief. After this William Quinn (1940-1944) and Donald McIntosh (1945-1953) followed until the son of Andrew O'Brecht, Lorne O'Brecht was appointed chief in 1955.

Today, the Mount Forest Fire Department is amalgamated with the Arthur Fire Department, under The Township of Wellington North. Fire Chief, Jeff Dahms, oversees the two stations. Wellington North Fire services pride themselves on providing rapid response to all fire and emergency situations within the municipality. They are dependent on the efforts of Arthur Station Chief, Jim Morrison, and Deputy Chief, Troy Lawlor, and Mount Forest Fire Station Chief, Ron MacEachern, and Deputy Chief, Bill Hieber, along with the efforts of several community volunteers. A part-time Fire Prevention Officer, Jason Benn, is also in place to assist in educating the public on prevention and run community programming.

The total fire protection area covers 187 square miles with a population of approximately 12,000.